Winner emerges from the PDP Ondo Governorship primaries

A winner has emerged from the governorship primaries of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, which held on Wednesday in Akure, the Ondo State capital. He is Eyitayo Jegede.

A total number of 2111 delegates voted during the primaries which lasted about eight hours, but Jegede who was also the standard-bearer of the party in 2016 polled 888 votes to emerge the winner while his closest rival, the embattled Deputy Governor of the state, Agboola Ajayi scored 667.

With this result, Jegede will face Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu who won the APC primaries on Monday in the October 10, 2020 governorship election.

The new PDP candidate, a former Attorney General in the state was announced winner of the primaries by the Chairman of the Governorship Primary Election Committee and the Governor of Enugu State, Ifeanyi Ugwanyi.

At the third position with 175 votes was Eddy Olafeso who was the Chairman of the PDP, South West, while Bode Ayorinde polled 95 votes with Banji Okunomo scoring 90.

Senator Boluwaji Kunlere polled 33 votes and Godday Erewa, 14 votes.

The voting ended around 8:00 pm as the exercise started around 4:00pm, while sorting of the ballots began at 9:30 pm and ended at 11:17 pm with counting of the votes ending at 12:20 am on Thursday.

Related Articles

Popular Articles