Revealed: Why Chelsea Champions League goal against Juventus wasn’t handball
This season’s new handball rules has proved that the Chelsea’s first goal against Juventus in Tuesday’s Champions League tie at Stamford Bridge was not handball.
Recall that during Chelsea’s clash with Juventus, the ball hit Antonio Rudiger on the arm as an assist for Trevor Chalobah.
Juventus midfielder Adrien Rabiot flicked the ball onto Rudiger’s arm from point-blank range.
Rudiger also had his arm across his chest, so arguably, if the ball had not struck him on the hand, it would have hit his torso anyway.
Recall that the new rule has been designed to not penalise attackers if they accidentally commit a handball in the build-up to a goal.
The rule was introduced by the International Football Association Board (IFAB) back in March.
Last season, the rules stated that any touch of the arm from an attacking player in the build-up to a goal was automatically caused to disallow it, whether it was considered to be intentional or not.
That was changed by IFAB this summer, so that is now only true if the player who scores does so with an arm.
Otherwise, intentionality is to be ascertained in the usual way.
For a very long time this website has been reaching out to readers continuously with incisive, entertaining, enlightening and helpful information.
Journalism requires funds to be effective and to continue with the free access to this venture, we ask you our esteemed reader to kindly consider supporting this noble endeavor.
By your support to AmbrosyMediaInfo, you are helping to sustain a journalism of relevance and ensuring it remains free and available to everyone.