Ondo election: Governor Akeredolu re-elected after defeating Jegede, others

The Ondo State Governor, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu has emerged the winner of the governorship election held on Saturday.

Akeredolu, the candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, was declared winner after polling the highest number of votes.

Prof. Abel Olayinka, the election’s Chief Returning Officer, who is also the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, UI, announced the result.

The governor will be staying as the chief executive of the State for another four year term having won in 15 of the 18 local government areas of the state while his rival, Eyitayo Jegede of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP won the remaining three within the Central Senatorial District.

ALSO READ: Zahra Buhari, Kiki Osinbajo join End SARS protest

Agboola Ajayi, who is the candidate of the Zenith Labour Party, ZLP and also Akeredolu’s current deputy,  could not secure any local government. 

The votes as announced, showed that Akeredolu polled a total of 292,830 votes, Jegede scored 195,791 with Ajayi coming a distant third with 69,127.

Related Articles

Popular Articles