Ondo Assembly Deputy Speaker lucky as Lawmakers reject his removal

The impeachment of Ogundeji Iroju as the Deputy Speaker of the Ondo State House of Assembly has been rejected by nine members of Assembly.

Rasheed Elegbeleye, Suleiman Jamiu Maito, Adewale Williams-Adewinle, Festus Akingbaso, Ogundeji Iroju, Favour Tomomowo, Tomide Akinribido, Tuhurkerijor and Samuel Edamisan, were the Assembly members who rejected the impeachment of the Deputy Governor, Agboola Ajayi and also against the removal of Iroju.

The Assembly had on Tuesday impeached the Deputy Speaker following allegations of gross misconduct.

The lawmakers described the impeachment as unlawful as it did not meet the constitutional requirements for the impeachment of the Deputy Speaker.

They argued that section 92 sub 2C of the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended requires two-thirds majority and the provisions of the standing order of the House for the impeachment of the Speaker or his Deputy.

According to the lawmakers, the same provision for the removal of the Speaker and Deputy is provided for in section 9 (sub 1-IX) of the standing order of the house. It requires two-thirds majority for their removal.

ALSO READ: NCDC reveals 138 NYSC members test positive for COVID-19

The lawmakers also said that it must be known that there was no place during a sitting of the Assembly either at the plenary or parliament where the decision to remove Iroju took place,

“It must be noted that the impunity reigns supreme in the Assembly where Rt Hon Bamidele Oleyeloogun presides.”

They argued that the action of some lawmakers in the Assembly was impunity taken to the highest level in a state governed by a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN).

Related Articles

Popular Articles