NJC recommends 18 persons as Justices of Court of Appeal to Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has been recommended 18 candidates by National Judicial Council (NJC) for appointment as Justices of the Court of Appeal.

Soji Oye, the spokesman, in a statement on Friday, said the decision was taken at the 94th Meeting of NJC chaired by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Tanko Muhammad.

Names of justices were also presented to Governors of Rivers, Nasarawa, Kogi, Jigawa, Ebonyi and Delta States.

The 18 names submitted to Buhari were Justices Bature Gafai, Muhammad Sirajo, Waziri Abdul-Azeez, Yusuf Bashir, Usman A. Musale, Jauro Wakili, Abba Mohammed, Danlami Senchi, Mohammed Abubakar, Hassan Sule.

The rest are Grand Khadi Mohammed Danjuma, Amadi Ikechukwu, Peter Affen, Sybil Gbagi, Olasumbo Goodluck, Banjoko Ibironke, Olabode Adegbehingbe and Bola Ademola.

The NJC recommended the appointment of Justice Salisu Garba as Chief Judge of the FCT; Justice Simeon Chibuzor Amadi as Chief Judge of Rivers; Justice Patience Onuwa Elumeze as President of the Customary Court of Appeal, Delta State.

ALSO READ: At last Onnoghen reveals why Buhari sacked him as CJN

Others are Justices Aisha Aliyu as Chief Judge of Nassarawa State; Sunday Omeiza Otu as Chief Judge of Kogi; Umar Sadiq as Chief Judge of Jigawa; Ngene Elvis as Chief Judge of Ebonyi; Theresa Diai as Chief Judge of Delta.

The candidates will be sworn-in by the President and their respective State Governors after confirmation by the National Assembly and the State Houses of Assembly.

Related Articles

Popular Articles