AFCON 2022 qualifiers from all 23 countries confirmed

23 countries have been confirmed as qualified for the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations, AFCON.

The countries are: Mali, Guinea, Burkina Faso, Malawi, Ghana, Sudan, Gambia, Gabon, Morocco, Mauritania, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Egypt, Comoros, Algeria, Zimbabwe, Senegal, Guinea-Bissau, Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast, Ethiopia and Nigeria.

Sierra Leone’s match against the Benin Republic was called off yesterday after the Squirrels refused to play in protest of several of their players allegedly returning positive COVID-19 tests shortly before kickoff.

However, the fate of the match and teams is pending a decision from the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Cape Verde defeated Mozambique 1-0 following the conclusion of the 2021 AFCON qualifying fixtures on Tuesday.

Malawi had defeated Uganda 1-0 on Monday to book their place in the tournament finals.

ALSO READ: Matic mocks Fernandes over Ronaldo’s disallowed goal

Countries like Comoros and Gambia that have never played at the tournament before have benefitted from the decision to expand the AFCON from a 16-team event to one featuring 24 teams.

Cameroon will host the 2022 AFCON organized by the CAF from January next year.

Algeria won the last AFCON hosted by Egypt in 2019 after defeating Senegal 1-0 in the final.

Related Articles

Popular Articles